Amex love

Background: my first credit card ever was a green American Express, back in 1982. I now have a Gold Card, my wife has another and I also hold a Corporate card.

Milano, october 1st, 2008

Messrs.

American Express Company

Largo Caduti di El Alamein, 9

00173 Roma

for the attention of mr. Guarra (sp?) – General Manager Italy, American Express Company

Dear mr. Guarra,

I hope I catched your name correctly, if not, apologies. I have received yesterday a most courteous call from your customer service, asking me to confirm I am the author of an unusually large purchase which I paid for using my Corporate American Express Card; I explained that this was indeed the case, as we organize events for our customers and in this particular case we needed to quickly confirm bookings with an hotel in San Francisco.

She said the payment to the hotel was going through all right, but being this amount way above my usual balance, the card would not be available for further use until payment had been received by American Express.

Actually, she added, “the whole position is blocked”. I had to ask twice to make sure I understood, and she confirmed for the next two weeks I cannot use my Corporate card.

Nor my personal Gold Card.

Nor my wife’s Gold Card.

While I applaud your thoroughness in making sure no undue payment escapes your scrutiny, I do not understand what my personal cards (whose balance is paid off my personal Bank Account) have to do with the outstanding balance of my Corporate card (whose balance is paid off the Company’s Bank Account). I do not understand why you are trying so hard to piss off (pardon the expression) a 20+ years loyal customer who’s giving you even more business.

Suicide impulses, perhaps?

I sent you this letter by snail mail, but I am also posting this on my blog; its 5 readers surely will not scare you, but I felt the urge to vent off my extreme frustration with this mindless application of a policy no doubt dreamed up by some blockhead sitting in a windowless office; if you decide to address this situation, you can back link them here.

Best regards

Giovanni Catalfamo (cardmember since 1982)

Update: this story has a happy ending. Read it here.

6 thoughts on “Amex love

Leave a comment