Social Business Forum day 1 wrap-up

This morning I attended the first day of the Social Business Forum. For those who do not know it, it’s a big event, with lots of high profile sponsors.

Instead of writing a blog post about the day and what I learned, I thought of letting Twitter do the work for me, by reposting my tweets during the morning:

Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 16.11.32 Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 16.11.21 Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 16.11.03 Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 16.10.45

To add to this stream, I had the unpleasant feeling we were abusing the word Disruption. Everything was about everything being disrupted and the recipes were more of how you brace for Armageddon rather than how you evolve.

Well, maybe I am mistaken, but:

  1. Change existed before Digital. We didn’t invent it.
  2. Not everybody is an Uber or Airbnb or Amazon – we should focus on DT for the rest of us (BTW, next time I see this slide, I will ask the speaker to contribute €10 to the Speaker Originality Fund)2015 abused infographic
  3. Change is difficult. That’s why 50% of the Fortune 500 companies did not exist 20 years ago (really?).
  4. Change is slow. I remember conversations about disintermediation of traditional businesses as back as 15 years ago.
  5. It’s either the success of everybody in the company, or there is no success.
  6. Not everybody wants to go the full length. You need intermediate goals whose deliverables are concrete and valuable in themselves.

Leave a Reply

