Ello: fad or real?

Last time I saw so much buzz around a social network we were awaiting the grand opening of Google Plus: the newest kind on the block, Ello, promises to be very different from existing social networks.

Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 14.49.45Get that?

No ads. Never. So how are they going to make money? This topic is clearly addressed in the WTF page (only accessible to members):

Screen Shot 2014-10-03 at 11.27.22

So the obvious question is therefore: what sort of feature would users pay money for?

Having some experience with Social Networks I asked myself this question, and came up so far with five answers.

Features I’d pay for on Ello

(I am not counting basic features such as hashtags and location which I think will come anyway for all users)

  1. negative hashtags – i.e. I don’t want to see anything on the 2018 World Cup = “-#Wc2018”
  2. frequently used hashtags on user profiles – i.e. @John often posts about #travel, @Judy often posts about #fashion
  3. following a user+hashtag combo – i.e. I want to see what @john says, but only on #football
  4. content type follow – i.e. I want / don’t want to see pictures
  5. hashtag + location user search – i.e. let’s see who posted about #sushi in Portland, Ore.

I am sure there are more, and I’d love to hear your ideas.

7 thoughts on “Ello: fad or real?

Leave a Reply

