Sod off

I know, not nice.

But february 1st came and went; I had been promised, both verbally and in writing, that the transition to ENI I initiated on june 9th, 2013 as my electricity supplier would be completed by feb. 1st: just to make sure, yesterday I placed a call to Customer Service and they informed me that the file is still “work in progress”.

I also had been promised by the lady who called me after (because of) my Facebook post they would look into the reason why I am paying €1,00 per cubic meter instead of the promised (alas, verbally only!) €0.73; almost a month has gone by, nobody called back.

So sod off, ENI, I am history!

As soon as I hung up with them I called Hera, another energy supplier, and signed them up: the promised prices (according to their website and confirmed by the sales clerk) should be €0.60 / cu.m. and €0.17 / KWh; I also have been promised the whole transition should be over in less than two months, so I have an alert already for April 4th, we’ll see.

Liars

In the process of this umpteenth transition, I have also discovered something I deem worthy of investigation and possibly a lawsuit: the price of what you buy is a mystery shrouded in shadows wrapped in a veil.

Here below the screen shots of the price of gas on www.famiglia.eni.it


Screen Shot 2014-02-04 at 08.30.02

and on Heracomm.it

Screen Shot 2014-02-04 at 08.26.38

apparently they are very similar: if anything, ENI is a tad lower than Hera. Not so.

Excluded from this price are a number of items, such as losses, delivery charges and levies. Not to mention VAT. The deceitful legal blurb states very confusely that these charges are decided elsewhere, leading you (deceitfully) to think that you must compare the offers on these two prices.

Puzzled, I asked the ENI sales clerk what is the final price of the cubic meter, and she admitted she did not know (they are not being given this information by their employer), but – she said “cannot be much different from the stated price”; when I asked her to check with me, she was genuinely surprised to find out that this price is a mere 35% of the total price. In fact when you round it off to include everything, ENI’s price is around €1.00 per cu.m. matching what I pay.

Hera’s price, however, (for reasons that completely escape me) represents 63.6% of the final, full price which therefore adds up to around €0.60 per cu.m.

This is like if BMW quoted to you the price of the engine alone, omitting the cost of bodywork, transmission, interiors and trim: the price of a 330 sedan would be very similar to the price of a 730, given it’s the same engine leading simpleton customers to order 730s only to find out the truth upon receipt of the invoice.

Isn’t this nice?

They lead you to believe “other” charges are fixed and you should compare suppliers on the price of gas, but it is not so.

A snake oil salesmen trick, splitting the full price and dismissing some chunks as “immaterial” (including misleading your own sales staff) when in reality they represent two-third of the final price the customer pays. Not bad as a commercial practice by the largest company in Italy.

One thought on “Sod off

Leave a Reply

