12 months of LinkedIn

On february, 2013 I started watching how my profile key stats and endorsements evolved on LinkedIn. It is important to remember that I make no effort whatsoever to influence if and how people endorse me.

Some key findings out of these 12 months of observation:

  1. Linkedin caps the number of skills you can be endorsed for at 50. I hit that cap in august, 2013
  2. the growth rates of my network (added connections per month) has trended down from around 35 to 15, perhaps a reflection of the fact that most of my network is already includeded in my almost 1500 connections; overall I added about 240 new connections, or 20%, in this year while in the same period I accumulated another 120 connection requests from people I do not know which I did not accept.
  3. the growth rate of endorsement is much more erratic, and while the R-squared of the exponential regression over the connections growth rate stands at a respectable 60%, that of endorsement is a measly 10%. In september, 2013 91 people endorsed me, matching march, 2013, but in december only 21 people did so, barely above my all time minimum of 17 in june. 2013. Still all over the place.
  4. I arbitrarily divided the 50 skills in “New” (19) and “Old” (31): the former includes all things digital, while the second includes everything else; I also figured the long tail of the endorsement thing does not carry any meaning, so I only analyse the skills adding up to 80% of total endorsements. Out of these, about 60% are New and 40% Old
  5. My Top Ten skills are represented in the below chart. Interesting to note that there are newcomers and dropouts. Among the fast growing I see “Digital Strategy“, “Digital Marketing” and “Strategy“.  “Start ups” broke in the top ten in september, while “Social Media Marketing” and “B2B” dropped off

2014 01 19 top ten skills

I wonder (I suspect) LinkedIn runs “campaigns” rotating the skills you see in the box when you log in which of course skews everything.

3 thoughts on “12 months of LinkedIn

  1. The more important question is, how many people really contact you based on the skill posted – and even more important, will the number of endorsement of a certain skill increase the number of contacts?

  2. The question is probably more relevant for people using LinkedIn to get a job – not my situation. I seek consulting engagements and while I am not aware of any of my clients ever being the straight result of LinkedIn, I have noticed several prospects checking out my profile after a presentation or a pitch.

Leave a Reply

