Dying tablets #2

Yesterday I posted somewhat provocatively on the demise of tablets, sparking a few comments and causing me to look in some more detail at the potential use cases for a tablet, comparing each to the same use case on a smartphone or a regular computer, delivering what I believe is an interesting table.

For the sake of disclosure, these are the devices I am comparing:

  • Tablet – Apple iPad 3gen, WiFi+3G (but no SIM), 16GB memory, iOS 6.1.3
  • Smartphone – Samsung Galaxy SII, Android 4.1.2
  • Computer – MacBook Air, Dual i7 CPU, 8GB RAM, 500GB SSD, OS X 10.8.4

I am sure my inventory of use cases is far from complete, so any contribution towards a more complete version is more than welcome.

2013 09 22 Tablet use case

Since the above table is very difficult to read, I also post the Excel file from which it comes – BTW, if anyone feels like adding to it, I’d be delighted to post more complete iterations.

My conclusions (perhaps influenced by my lack of gaming experience) is that about the only advantage of a tablet over a smartphone is its larger screen (which explains the success of phablets, perhaps) but you more than pay for this in loss of portability and ease of use.

In all these three years, the only thing that ABSOLUTELY requires a tablet I have found is…

angry birds 3D

2 thoughts on “Dying tablets #2

Leave a Reply

