Turkey scare – updated jun 4

What’s going on in Turkey?

I must admit I barely followed at first, my politics timeshare is already fairly crowded as the publicist of my wife (she’s Mayor in the village where we live), participating in a failed attempt to get a environmentalist hardliner list elected in our previous village, remotely worrying about the generic sorry state of italian politics and the possibility of professionally winning a contract to run the digital strategy campaign for a major european party group.

But then Social Media sneaked in my timeline more and more hints to unrest and protests in Turkey: I have been been several times in Istambul and loved each one, so I started looking for a wee bit more information and reached out to some friends there, and their reaction hit me like a freight train: these are some voices of the people crying for help. Even though I have not met all of them personally, I just cringe seeing some of those who I know using such words to describe the situation.

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.56.05 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.56.19 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.58.13 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.58.28 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.58.50 PM

Apparently it all started as some student took the streets to protest againt the tearing down of a park in the city centre of Istambul to make room for a shopping mall; then the thing escalated and is now creating a variety of life-threatening situations, where protesters are allegedly been the victims of unrestrained police violence.

A few good blogs describing the situation:

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 5.11.13 PM

I also made and will maintain a Twitter list of the people who responded – feel free to subscribe to it here, with the caveat that most tweets are in turkish. If anyone reads this and wants to be added, just mention me in Twitter and I’ll add you.

To my good friends in Turkey I can only suggest to use english as much as they can to get support and comprehension from abroad – already quite a few people pointed out that local media outlet are not necessarily the most objective, so if you want to drum up international support, make it easier for us to understand what is going on.

I will broadcast this even if my own audience is tiny, but who knows…

One thought on “Turkey scare – updated jun 4

  1. Truly disturbing trends… A government that wants access to the EU must treat its people differently!

Leave a Reply

