What is “tech” ?

Interesting post on marchpr discussing the woes of the “tech sector”; I have attempted this quick answer:

I think I read somewhere that 105% of the profts generated by the world PC market go to Microsoft and Intel – so NOBODY can make ANY money there, except by arbitraging a small local advantage on huge volumes (Lenovo vs. Dell)

Secondly, while BillG left for good, both Page and Jobs returned to their companies – I do not see a trend here demonstrating that Zuck must leave as CEO.

Third, it’s become a world of vertically integrated UX: Apple demonstrated how powerful this can be, so I expect a lot more integration to happen. Examples? Apple/Twitter, Facebook/Foursquare and then Microsoft/Facebook, somebody may pick up what’s left of Nokia (MS again ?), don’t think anyone is interested in Groupon, let it die a quiet death.

2 thoughts on “What is “tech” ?

  1. Gianni,

    Thank you again for your comment. I figured I would share with your followers my response.

    The notion of the technology market moving towards integrating products will certainly bring new services and toys to the sector, and could help to strengthen the stocks on Wall Street. Alternatively, do you believe that this will help to solve the financial challenges and change Facebook’s business plan? I agree I don’t believe that Zuckerberg has to leave as the CEO, but I think it might be favorable if he did.

    Brian

  2. Brian,
    thanks for your comment.

    All I am saying is that Zuck got what he needed. He has a vision and to say that anyone that starting at age 19 must leave as CEO of the company he grew to a billion users is totally silly.
    Frankly, I think it is a case of “caveat emptor” because I do not thinkany of these maverick CEOs ever cared a fig about their investors but merely endured the thought that others could partake in their fortune in exchange for a lot of ready (and cheap cash).

    Very diverse is the situation of comoanies with true governances like IBM (#client) or HP where the CEO is truly acting in the best interests of shareholders and when he does not, he should get the boot!

Leave a Reply

