Are you a Social Networks pro?

Royal Pingdom found 29 social networks with more than one million visitors per day; the data is as of feb, 2011 but I think it still testifies the fact that I am not the pro I thought I was.


Of their list:

  • I am a member of 6 7 (Update 1: I found I am on Orkut as well)
  • I had heard of another 9 8
  • I had no idea the remaining 14 even existed

Surprises for me:

  • Orkut has 51M daily visitors? really ?
  • Odnoklassniki (the russian equivalent of Classmates.com with a FB flavor) is not much larger than business-oriented vKontakte
  • Qzone (chinese MySpace) has 480 million members and is way larger than Renren (chinese Facebook), clocking in 12 times its daily visitors
  • Hyves, Tuenti and Renren attract about the same traffic – all three popular in one country only, but the countries are Holland, Spain and China

Update 2: a couple of friends replied so I propose a simple self-scoring system: 2 points for each membership, 1 point for each “heard of”. In the comments, thank you.

4 thoughts on “Are you a Social Networks pro?

  1. What stands out for me here is how small the Twitter group is – a few people posting a lot, while the Facebook community has a broader reach – many people posting a little

  2. Hi gianni,

    I am member of three (6 points) and heard of 8 networks listed there (8 points). So I sm ending up with 14.

    Whatever happened to 4square?

    • Marianna,
      I guess they measure only access to website ant use of app. Most Foursquare use is on the app, and not on the site, so it figures it’s not in here.

      Robert,
      I think you’re right, but I put it down to maturity – Twitter is still in the early majority stage, while FB is full mass market

Leave a Reply

