Entrusting my digital Self

Alessandro Bottoni discusses on Punto Informatico whether italians should trust their government with what could be considered as a small (but important) part of the digital Self I described yesterday. His view is rather politically biased, but the question is interesting and while Italy might not be the ideal country where to start I’d be curious to hear the views of people from other places:

Would you entrust your digital Self to your government?

My answer is not perhaps what you’d expect: GIVE ME A CHOICE !

3 thoughts on “Entrusting my digital Self

  1. Governments should be keeping out of personal information. Giving people a choice is not enough – much of the populace isn’t smart enough to understand the consequences.

    A government that is powerful enough to give you everything you want is powerful enough to take everything you have.

    • I have a hard time defending governments myself but it is a fact of life they already know a lot about you. Which could precisely be the reason not to volunteer them even more.

  2. There’s a bumper sticker among gun advocates that goes something like …
    “You can have my gun when you pry it from my dead cold fingers”

    I’m not a gun advocate, but on this one I’d have to say…
    “You can have my hard drive when you pry it from…”

Leave a Reply

