Finally: Gigapan !

This thing has been sitting in the trunk of my car for months. Today I managed to overcome all the hurdles a capricious destiny threw in my way (=flat batteries) and shot this panorama out of the window of our bedroom in St.Raphael.

Click to view
Click to view

Some data for the photography buffs:

  • Images: 408 (24 x 17)
  • Pixel count: 74,642 (w) x 37,814 (h) = 2.82 gigapixels !!
  • Field of view: 71.1° (w) x 36.0° (h)
  • Camera: Panasonic DMC-FZ28
  • Focal length (35mm equiv.): 486mm
  • Exposure: 1/800 sec, f 7.1, ISO 200
  • Shooting time: 34m 44s
  • Computing time: 6h 18m
  • Upload time: 7h 35m
picture-2
Crop of the Gigapan shot yesterday (1/800", f7.1)
picture-2-shot
Shot today with a tripod (1/160", f4.4)

Still unhappy with the focus: I thought I had set it to infinity, but the picture is not as sharp as I hoped.

Mind you, this house is at least one kilometer away, but still, with a 35mm equivalent focal length of 500mm I was hoping for something better. It is clear I did not set the focus perfectly when taking the panorama, as the picture on the right (taken today in isolation) has much more detail.

The panorama image seems washed out, but yesterday we had a glorious sushine, so I can’t say whether it was different lighting condition or the stitching software altering the image to blend them.

Also, the extension tray we concocted has a soft plastic liner I placed to prevent camera body scratching – this means the coupling screw must be really tight to prevent the robotic arm from tilting the whole body when taking each picture: I suspect this caused the black vertical strip on the upper left hand side.

2 thoughts on “Finally: Gigapan !

Leave a Reply

